Reducing the Cost of a Machine

om_tech_support_JT

Reducing the Cost of a Machine

Postby om_tech_support_JT » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:17 am

Question of the Month:
We manufacture parts handling and some custom machines. My boss has asked our team to look at reducing the cost of our machines. I am a mechanical engineer and therefore I am in charge of the motor system cost reduction. We currently use a PLC with an HMI and all of our motion is done with servo motors from 100 up to 750 watts. Most utilize a gearbox. The applications are for conveyors and pick and place robots. I know Oriental Motor manufactures many types of motors. I know I need to provide more details about my setup but where do you recommend that I start my research?

Answer:
From a control standpoint, we have designed many products to be directly compatible with PLCs so easy integration is possible. It comes down to what you are trying to achieve with each axis. We find that many of the applications currently using servo motors can also be done with other types of motors. There are applications where a servo motor system must be chosen. However, we have had great success looking at the actual requirements on an axis by axis basis and reducing costs for our customers with other alternatives.

CONVEYORS/SPEED CONTROL: For your conveyor applications, I would suggest that you start by considering geared AC motors. This is the most cost-effective and trusted solution. If simple speed control is needed, please consider our AC speed control motor systems. For example, a combination of our MSC-1 speed controller with our V Series high torque AC gearmotors offers flexible speed control options, acceleration/deceleration settings, 2-speed operation, as well as easy setup and PLC I/O compatibility. For just $88 plus the cost of the motor, you can achieve closed-loop speed control.

MSC-1 easy to use, PLC integration.jpg
MSC-1 easy to use, PLC integration.jpg (94.66 KiB) Viewed 4835 times