Connecting AR-series drivers to a Galil DMC controller

Discuss Stepper motors, Drivers, Controllers, GUI's and related Accessories here.
sumit0008

Connecting AR-series drivers to a Galil DMC controller

Postby sumit0008 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:13 pm

Hi,

I am very new to stepper motors and using controllers to control their motion. I am trying to use a Galil DMC-4133 motion controller along with 3 AR-series stepper motors. I just need the motors to do simple positional operations, run clockwise a certain number of times and then run counter-clockwise a certain number of times. I am having difficulty in figuring out how the wiring should be on the two connectors.

Can anyone help me figure out which pin on the 36-pin connector on the driver side corresponds to which pin on the 26-pin connector on the controller side? Also may I know specifically the signal descriptions of pin 2, 21, 22, 23, 25 and 30 and which corresponding pin on the controller can be connected to them? The controller manual can be retrieved from this link: http://www.galilmc.com/checkreg.php?loc ... et=man41x3

Looking forward to your replies.

om_tech_support_JT

Re: Connecting AR-series drivers to a Galil DMC controller

Postby om_tech_support_JT » Mon Mar 25, 2013 2:21 pm

Hi,

I did take a look at the Galil DMC controller manual. However, it is difficult to determine which pins the pulse and direction outputs are located on their connector (perhaps these have to be pre-assigned?). While we're not experts with Galil controllers, I can tell you exactly how to wire our inputs.

Our AR series series drivers (ARD-A, ARD-C, ARD-S, ARD-K) would have pulse and direction inputs that accept either 5VDC or 24VDC, sinking or sourcing. From what I can gather from the Galil manual, it seems that their pulse and direction outputs are specified at 0-5VDC, 20mA sink/source. I would wire these as:

GALIL OUTPUT TO OUR CN5 36 PIN CONNECTOR:
1. 5VDC+ PULSE+ to our pin 31 (CW+/PLS+)